Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. Music
  3. Alternative Rock
  4. The Presets
The Presets

Alternative Rock

The Presets Tickets

1 Upcoming Events

Select Date


1 Events

About The Presets

THE PRESETS are back and up for it. On the back of their first new tracks in almost four years -triple j favourites “Do What You Want” and “14U+14ME”-the Australian electronic dance pioneers have today announced a national tour to launch their long awaited fourth studio album HI VIZ.

It’s  been a  decade  since  this duo –Julian  Hamilton  &  Kim  Moyes–first  set festival  fields  alight  with breakthrough anthems like “My People”, “Talk Like That” and “This Boys In Love”. The pair had been making waves in Sydney’s clubs since forming in 2003 and signing  to  the  influential  Modular  Records,but it  was  their 2008 Oz chart topper, Apocalypso, that first introduced them to wider audiences. That album was certified triple platinum and won them six ARIA Awardsin their homeland. By contrast, 2012’s critically acclaimed Pacifica was comparatively  introspective  but  epic  gigs  around  the  world –from  Glastonbury  Festival  and  Coachella  to Splendour In The Grass –forged the duo’s reputation as Australian electronic music trailblazers. Continuing in this  tradition,  The  Presets’ fourth  album HI  VIZ–which  lands  May  18 –delivers a  ‘back  to  basics’  set, deliberately curated as a proxy for The Presets’ live experience.

HI  VIZ has  already  been  teased  with  two  songs -the urgent “Do What You Want” dropped late  last  year  and featured in triple j’s Hottest 100 songs of 2017 and the sweeping “14U+14ME”, which is among the tastemaker station’s most played songs of 2018.  Most of the album has been mixed by John Hanes who created the classic mix of “Uptown Funk” as  well  as  working  more  recently  with  the  likes  of  Sia,  Bruno  Mars  and  Major Lazer.   Apocalypso collaborator  Scott  Horscroft  also  mixed  several HI  VIZ tracks  while  Flume  engineer  Eric  J mixed “Beethoven”–the pair’s sly nod to their Conservatorium years.

Both Julian and Kim individually produce other artists outside their Presets collaborations, so it’s not surprising that they, once again,are credited as Producers for their own album. It’s also apt that some of the artists with whom they’ve worked should make HI  VIZ cameos. For example, “Are You Here?” features indie rockers  the DMA’s, whose latest  release  was  co-produced  by  Kim.  Similarly  Alison  Wonderland –for  whom  The  Presets recently created a widely played remix -guested on the beaty “Are You Out Of Your Mind?” while Jake Shears from Scissor Sisters added vocals to the dark’n’steamy “Tools Down”. Joining The  Presets acrossall their Australian  tour  dates,  Roland  Tings  will  bring  his  propulsive  cuts  and dynamic live set to the fore. Fresh off the heels of releasing his new, stripped back house track “One Hundred” feat. HIGH HØØPS, the Melbourne producer will be kicking things off each evening with hisblistering live set.